Dealing with Self talk

Instead of questioning your worthiness, pat yourself on the back for something you’ve achieved recently, no matter how small. With this in mind, decide to write yourself a ‘Thank You Letter’. I have decided to express gratitude for my good traits and accomplishments and be bold and honest.

Take few Steps for Forgiving Yourself –

  1. Make a list of everything you cannot (or want/need to) forgive yourself for.

These are people/living things you have harmed, things you did that you’re ashamed of, guilty of, or regret doing, mistakes you’ve made, bad things you’ve done, etc.

I have been hurt/harmed by________________.

  1. Maybe you can choose one thing at a time that you want to focus on. I find it easier to go through the process of self-forgiveness if I focus on one thing at a time. Make a note of the thing I need to forgive myself for is: _____________________-

3. While identifying the limiting beliefs or negative emotions it created within you, feel free to record them. Did you develop a certain negative belief about yourself from hurting someone else? Often times when we do something wrong or hurt people in some way and we develop an idea in our head about who we are such as, “I’m a bad person, I don’t deserve happiness, I’m not a good man, etc.” or we harbour negative emotions such as self-blame, self-disgust, disappointment, guilt, and shame. The limiting belief or negative emotion this wrongdoing has created within you is destructive.

With these tools, I hope you will be able to forgive yourself and be able to move on in life.


Posted by:
Annie David

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.